Heath Ceramics: A Visit

Yesterday I went to the Heath Ceramic factory/studio in Sausalito. I was there scoping out the overstock collections for a future project and I happened to be right in time for a tour! I love factory tours and getting a peak behind the scenes.

I decided if I were to ever work at Heath Ceramics, I would want to be in the glazing department. All the colors are earthy and have natural hues.

Heath Ceramics started with one woman throwing individual pieces and getting recognized by bay area museums and later large department stores. The company has new owners and moved to Sausalito for more space to set up a factory. All the pieces are made with molds. These vases start out as a milkshake-like consistency. 

This is the biggest kiln I have ever seen! I did ceramics in college and the kiln we used was no bigger than a whiskey barrel. This is only one of their several kilns around the factory.

Leave a Reply

