Cement Sculptures

After some research I decided making my own cement sculptures was something I wanted to try (especially because I can use the same cement I use as adhesive and I have a 50lb bag). I am starting small because this will be a learning experience. My first attempt to cover the entire ball at once failed. The second try I covered only half the ball, let it dry enough so it would not become one with it’s resting place, then flipped it over and covered the rest. This morning I went back and sanded the rough edges. They look pretty good! Each one is about 3 inches in diameter.The second or third ball I attempt to mosaic will have this broken china my sister gave me to repurpose. I can’t wait to see how these little sculptures turn out!

2 responses to “Cement Sculptures

  1. Jonathan Blatteis May 10, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Just curious. What are you covering with the cement?

    • ablatteis May 10, 2011 at 5:46 pm

      I used styrofoam. But I want to find an alternative because I hate the idea of supporting any kind of styrofoam manufacturer. I want to start collecting people’s used styrofoam so I least don’t have to buy it new from a store…

Leave a Reply

