Hayes Valley Community Project

This weekend I assisted Laurel True of True Mosaics on the final stages of a community project in Hayes Valley, San Francisco. The concept and design is by Laurel and I assisted with mixing adhesive, setting, instructing volunteers and grouting. I learned a lot about working with a community and direct application with a mosaic. We had a lot of fun and everyone who volunteered was great to work with. I can’t wait until I have a project like this of my own!The park is located on Hayes and Buchanan in SF so if you are in the area definitely go check it out. It is a new community center, playground and garden for the community.
Also located in this park is the mosaic sculpture designed by Laurel True that I assisted cutting out ovals for several months ago (check out previous post here).  Unfortunately it was covered up when I was there so I will have to go back to take photos.

Leave a Reply

