Chicken

The second piece I submitted to IMA was this chicken. It’s 12″x12″ and the inspiration was from a plastic chicken my sister sent me for my birthday 3 years ago. It was made by a group of women in South Africa who make art using recycled materials and sell it online. It’s an awesome chicken and I especially like the idea of spending money on a gift that immediately supports the arts and this organization.

Deciding on the background was by far the hardest part. It took me several attempts to get something that looked right. The dark grout was also the perfect choice for this. It made the chicken truly become the highlight of the piece.Here it is with just the head completed. I liked it a lot at this stage. I often want to stop and keep it as is.

When I finally decided on the background, I started thinking about grout color. You can see the bag of grout next to the piece. I was testing out different colors and trying to imagine what it would look like. There was such a difference in the before and after. I love when that happens.

Leave a Reply

