Casey’s Portrait

IMA is having a Portrait Exhibition at the end of this month and I decided to include a couple pieces. Here is the first one I am planning on using… Casey! I based this on a photo I had taken of him a couple months ago. He was laying on the kitchen floor giving me a look that said “you’re bothering me but I am too comfortable to move.” This is a small piece (6.5″ x 8″) but my next portrait will be slightly bigger.

I started by drawing out the design ahead of time. I don’t usually do any shading at this stage but because it is a portrait and I was concerned with capturing his personality, it helped to do a more detailed sketch.

2 responses to “Casey’s Portrait

  1. Hayley February 14, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Ali,

    This is great! What an amazing mosaic of Casey. I love it! Hope everything is going well with you. Keep up the beautiful work. Love you and Happy Valentines Day!

    Hayley

  2. charley February 23, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    will you do a benji?

Leave a Reply

