Garfield Elementary: Part 2

Welcome to Ms. Rachel’s 2nd grade class. We finished the first stage of the group mosaic and I am so happy with how it’s turning out. I had such a great time working with Rachel’s students. They were well behaved (Rachel has amazing management skills), enthusiastic and talented. Many of them mentioned how it reminded them of a puzzle and a few of the kids even skipped their break to help us finish up the last few pieces.
To get prepared, I drew out the United States and divided it into regions. Western, Midwest, Southern and Eastern. The students have been learning about cardinal directions so they grasped the concept quickly. I put the adhesive in pastry bags to keep everything from getting too messy. The less adhesive on top of the tiles the better (the pastry bag trick I got from Ene when I was helping on the fish sculptures). I also pre-processed all the tiles because I did not want any students to use the hammer or nippers. I was so impressed with how they were able to fit the pieces together and stay within the lines. They were all careful but moved quickly so we were able to finish the board in under 1 hour and 15 minutes.Each region was assigned a different color. We had four students at a time and each person got to work with a different color. But everyone got to help fill in the blue background.

I am going back later this week to grout with the class. That will be the last step! I can’t wait to see how it turns out. So far looking good.

3 responses to “Garfield Elementary: Part 2

  1. Kim February 8, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    Ali – what a great project! I hope you’ll post a picture of the finished project – and I assume your helper was a fabulous assistant!!!

  2. thejesspage February 9, 2011 at 2:01 am

    can’t wait to see this one all done.

Leave a Reply

